Annual Joseph L. Rauh, Jr. Lecture

The 29th Annual Joseph L. Rauh, Jr. Lecture (2023)

Maya Wiley, president and CEO of The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights and The Leadership Conference Education Fund



About the Joseph L. Rauh, Jr. Lecture


Joe Rauh (standing, fifth from left)
(National Archives, Washington, D.C.)

The annual Joseph L. Rauh, Jr. Lecture series serves as a dedicated forum at UDC Law in which leading members of the bench or bar speak directly to the people of the District and the law school community on issues of vital importance to the practice of law in the public interest.

Established in 1993 in honor of the late civil liberties attorney and founding member of the law school Board of Governors Joe Rauh, some of the nation’s most respected civil rights and public interest figures – including then-U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder, U.S. Supreme Court Justices Ruth Bader Ginsberg and Sonia Sotomayor and many others – have delivered the Rauh Lecture.

The Rauh Lecture, which is open to the public and free of charge, includes a catered reception at the conclusion of the event courtesy of the D.C. School of Law Foundation.

About Joe Rauh

Joe Rauh envisioned a law school that would function as a training ground for public interest lawyers: a school where law students could learn basic skills and represent the underrepresented at the same time, a school that made dedication to public service a criterion for admission and commitment to public service a life-long responsibility. The University of the District of Columbia David A. Clarke School of Law is Joe Rauh’s dream come true. A founding member of the Law School’s Board of Governors, Rauh remained one of its staunchest supporters until his last hours with us.

Past Rauh Lecturers

2010 Eric Holder 
2009 Sen. Patrick Leahy 
2008 Vernon Jordan 
2007 Nina Totenberg interviewed by Wade Henderson
2006 Theodore M. Shaw
2005 Congressman Barney Frank
2004 Congressman John Lewis
2003 Marian Wright Edelman
2002 Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton, Ralph Neas and Wade Henderson on “Civil Rights in the 21st Century”
2001 Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg 
2000 Charles Ruff
1999 The Sleep Room (an award-winning film about Joe Rauh’s last case)
1998 Jack Greenberg
1997 Elaine Jones
1996 Father Robert Drinan
1995 Rick Seymour
1994 Judith Lichtman & Roger Wilkins
1993 William Taylor